#MirthMusicMon – David Tennnant as Benedick

5 Jan

I love the story of Much Ado About Nothing.

Love it.

So it was with great happiness that I discovered that David Tennant and Catherine Tate had done a production of that play. I mean, really, my favorite combo of Doctor and Companion did one of my favorite Shakespeare plays. You might as well pour chocolate sauce on top and hand me a spoon. Happy!

Now all I have found so far have been clips on YouTube, but those alone kept me in stitches (mostly because I know the exact context of nearly every word in the thing).

Here for your Mirth and Music Monday amusement is a compilation video of clips from their version of this funny, deep, and sarcastic play.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zgWGZbQLzB4

.

Now for another version of that song:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=479TkEj0UAA

.

I would really like to see a live production of this play. What makes me nervous is that I have not had a great experience with the cultural offerings of the nearest city. It was a great play that could have been handled 500x better. The casting alone hurt. But, that is not to say that if they had a comedy lined up for Shakespeare in the park (put on by another play company) that I wouldn’t move heaven and earth (or at least my hind quarters) to get there in time to get a decent spot. Yay, summer!

.

Now, if you would like to see more Mirth and Music Monday you can search for links on Twitter using #MirthMusicMon, or just click HERE to be taken to the linky.

That linky is where you would put your own link should you decide to play along with us on this Monday mash-up of merriment and music.

.

That’s it for me this week, folks!

Have a Great day!!!

.

.

(I have a confession to make. I equally love Amy and Rory as companions as well, but for some reason they seem…different. Separate almost. Like they created a whole other little universe within the wonderfulness that is Dr. Who and poured this delicious couple within that reality. It all makes me so happy, and at the same time so sad. Probably most peoples’ reaction to a lot of Dr. Who stuff.

*shrugs* Oh well.

.

.

.

One Response to “#MirthMusicMon – David Tennnant as Benedick”

  1. Emily Witt January 5, 2015 at 1:10 pm #

    I love Much Ado so much. I own both these versions, very much recommend getting your hands onTennant/Tat the entire e production. It is incredible. (It’s on digitaltheatre.com for about $10 if you can’t track down the DVD).

    I tend to mock Kenneth Branagh a lot but I do have a soft spot for him as Benedick

    A local company here is doing this show in… July I think, and I considering auditioning but then it occurred to me that I wouldn’t get cast as Beatrice my first time auditioning for the company, and while I’d probably have fun, I’d be disappointed if I only got to be a handmaiden or something.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

