Reblog – First Draft Composition: A Focused, Directed Vision is a MUST

17 Jan

I read this post when it first came out, but it’s like I’m reading it again for the first time. Mostly because it’s exactly what I need to hear right now. I’m kind of panicking over writing a larger part for a small character in this romantic/suspence, when all I really have to do is add a couple diary entries to what I’ve already written. Why does the brain have to make this stuff so difficult?!?

So, for the next couple of writing sessions I am going to do my best to just concentrate on the next few words, instead of the entire darn book.

  • Do you need to narrow your view of your current work in progress?
  • Have you been spending too much time thinking about your novel as a whole rather than how you’re going to draft your current scene?

.

Creative Writing with the Crimson League

If you’ve been following my posts this week–especially those of the last two days–especially yesterday’s, The Post NaNoWriMo drag, and a previous one about inspiration not striking as I’d like–then you know I’m struggling to make progress as I try to wrap up a first draft I’m working on, the first one in a new series about my fantasy world of Herezoth. I’m just feeling overwhelmed by all the directions and possibilities, and I’ve noticed a pattern to my panickings/uncertainties:

  • Where do I take the next book? I have a particularly couple, the princess and a guardsman, I’m trying to bring together but it doesn’t seem entirely feasible and I have no clue how their storyline is going to end. And never mind Herezoth’s war with Esclavay! Do I have one kingdom invade the other? Keep battle maritime? I know NOTHING about warships/sea battles! I’d have to do so…

View original post 456 more words

Leave a Reply

